Settling Dust

Dust….seems to be the theme.  For this week though it is settling dust.  And man does it feel nice.  The past two weeks have been full of everyone falling apart.  From teenage daughter drama, to anxiety attacked middle child, more calls about oldest child, trying to figure out the right direction for the youngest, stomach virus, strep throat, and praying a job for my husband. What a turbulent storm of calamity.  I actually ended up crawling in my car while at work one day just to cry it out-there was no longer any way to hold back the tears.  Something had to give.

As with any storm, the clouds do pass.  The sun does shine again.  Today we get our youngest discharged 🙂  Our middle one has calmed down and has been giving this mommy surprise hugs-just his way of saying thanks and I love you.  The oldest one has been so excited to be at home on the weekends again.  And our one and only daughter is talking more with us, excitedly starting the lacrosse season, and staying up late just to have mom&dad to herself.   We’ve had a few nights of the kids climbing on our bed to talk and hang out with us.  We’ve played games with each other.  We’re beginning the sports schedule juggle.  We’ve shared laughter and tears.

Our living room has a poem stenciled on the wall:

In this house…

We do second chances.

We do grace.

We do real mistakes.

We do I’m sorry’s.

We do loud really well.

We do hugs.

We do family.

We do LOVE.

As hard as these times have been, I wouldn’t trade them or any of my kids, (my husband-maybe) no seriously not him either, for anything in the world.  We are family-we just do things a little different around here.  And it is from these times that I have learned what it means to be steadfast in love and commitment, to hold on and hang in there even when all you see around you is a huge disaster, the amazing way to find joy in the smallest of details, how blessed you are to be surrounded and encouraged to keep going.  I have loved the stars at night as I ponder their creation, the thrill of seeing a falling star the other night, the elation of hearing laughter in the house….I can’t even put into words all of the positive that has come from these challenging times.  I can say the positive does outweigh the negative.  Hey, my husband signed a job offer yesterday and starts a new job on the 19th!  So the dust is finally settling.  I love that even when all looked desolate there was still hope for a better day….. And all of this, I simply treasure! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Settling Dust

  1. Donna says:

    So glad to read this post.

  2. Thank you!! And thank you for all of your prayers and encouragement!!

Leave a Reply

