Beauty in the Ashes

“We all want things to stay the same. Settle for living in misery because we’re afraid of change, of things crumbling to ruins. Then I looked at around to this place, at the chaos it has endured – the way it has been adapted, burned, pillaged and found a way to build itself back up again. And I was reassured,……Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation.”

So timely- one of my favorite movies on the TV, with a quote that brings a fresh breath of relief and steadies my anxious heart.  My simple treasure, as I look around at circumstances which are beyond my control& beyond anything I could’ve ever imagined they would be,  is the simple fact that all is not really lost.  To each and every season of life there is a purpose and a plan for it-even though I may never understand, I can rest assured confidently knowing that nothing happens haphazardly.  That doesn’t mean my heart isn’t feeling pulverized and aches.  It just means  I may not be able to see the reason for ruin now, but I know I will be able to look back in time and see the beauty in the ashes.

I’m watching many friends & family post about what they are thankful for.  Each day the goal is to think of one thing you are thankful as we are leading up to Thanksgiving.  I love that I can’t my finger on one thing I am thankful for today-as I ponder through it I can’t pick just one thing.  I am blessed to have a long list of things I am thankful for in the midst of such difficult times 🙂 My simple treasure-finding beauty in the ashes 🙂 To look at what appears to be a heap of ruin and ashes, yet know with fresh grace, that all is not lost.

Leave a Reply

